Fort Lauderdale Personal Injury Lawyers Logo

We’re not like other firms.

Home 9 Car Accidents 9 What Are Florida’s Auto Insurance Laws?

What Are Florida’s Auto Insurance Laws?

by | Feb 4, 2021 | Car Accidents

Most people won’t need to be concerned about Florida’s auto insurance laws, but it’s nice to be aware of them. It is often possible for Fort Lauderdale car crash victims to recover damages for their losses with the help of a Fort Lauderdale car accident lawyer. It is typically easier to recover these damages if you carry the minimum auto insurance coverage.

Every state has its own set of rules and guidelines that govern auto insurance requirements for that state. The same is true for Florida. If you live in Florida and drive a vehicle, you must carry the minimum auto insurance coverage as specified in the state laws. When you run into an accident, this insurance automatically kicks in to cover your losses. However, if you don’t carry insurance, recovering damages can become a lot more complicated for you, even if the other driver was at fault.

When is Auto Insurance Needed in Florida?

As per Florida laws, you must carry auto insurance if you own a vehicle with four or more wheels. The requirement applies even if you are not based in Florida but have been around for a while. Specifically, if you have been in Florida for 90 days out of the last 365 days, the auto insurance requirements apply on you. This stands true even if those 90 days were not consecutive.

Florida’s No-Fault Law

Florida is a no-fault state when it comes to auto accidents. This has a direct impact on the auto insurance requirements of the state. No-Fault basically means that your own insurer must cover you for your injury-related losses after a car accident. This is the case regardless of who was at fault in the accident. For this reason, you are required to have the relevant kinds of coverage to ensure that your losses are covered in the event of an accident.

Types of Auto Insurance

When it comes to auto insurance requirements in Florida, you typically need to carry three types of insurance. These include Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance, Property Damage Liability insurance, and Bodily Injury Liability insurance. Here’s a look at what each type of insurance is.

PIP Insurance

PIP is the main type of insurance coverage that comes into play when having an auto accident in Florida. If the accident is the fault of the other driver, PIP still covers you. This saves you from the need to file with the insurer of the other driver or sue the at-fault party for damages. Instead, your own insurer covers your losses under PIP, which helps you avoid the time and cost of going after another party.

Florida laws specify that your PIP coverage must be $10,000 at the very least. If you do run into an accident, you can claim damages under PIP if you receive the initial medical care within 14 days of the auto accident.

PIP insurance covers you, any passengers in your vehicle, relatives living with you, as well as any other drivers who may operate your vehicle with your permission. In general, PIP covers 80% of reasonable medical expenses of car crash injuries, as well as 60% of the lost wages caused by the crash.

Property Damage Liability Insurance

Property Damage Liability insurance applies when you cause damage to another person’s property while driving your vehicle. Such property may include another person’s car, wall, lawn, fence, telephone pole, or virtually any other kind of property.

As with PIP, the minimum coverage requirement for property damage liability insurance is $10,000. This type of insurance covers you as well as any other person who may operate your vehicle with your permission.

Bodily Injury Liability Insurance

Bodily Injury Liability insurance, also known as BI insurance, is a requirement in Florida for such drivers who have previously caused accidents involving injury or death. It also applies to drivers who have received citations for DUI or other traffic violations. BI coverage pays for the losses of other drivers when serious injury or wrongful death is involved.

The minimum BI coverage required under Florida laws is $10,000 per person and $20,000 per accident. However, the minimum coverage requirements may be higher depending on your record. If you were convicted of DUI, for instance, the minimum requirement is $100,000 per person and $300,000 per accident.

Hiring a Reliable Fort Lauderdale Car Accident Lawyer

If you have suffered a car crash in Fort Lauderdale, our experienced car accident attorneys at Englander Peebles can help you. Even when you carry PIP coverage, you will need to negotiate with your insurer to make sure your losses are covered. Insurers are not always willing and ready to fairly reimburse you. This is where we can work with you to make sure your rights are protected and your losses are covered. Contact us today to book a one-on-one consultation with our lawyers.