Fort Lauderdale Personal Injury Lawyers Logo

We’re not like other firms.

Home 9 Vehicle Safety 9 Motorcycle Helmet Laws

Motorcycle Helmet Laws

by | Nov 7, 2023 | Vehicle Safety

Helmet laws are there to protect riders, though sometimes these laws can be lax. Florida helmet laws have specific age and insurance requirements that must be followed. Severe injuries can occur if a motorcyclist is in a collision with a four-wheeled vehicle much larger than their vehicle.

The State of Florida’s motorcycle helmet laws can be found in Florida Statutes § 316.211. The Florida law states that unless a rider is over 21 years of age and carries insurance that provides the rider a minimum of $10,000 in medical benefits, they are legally required to wear a helmet.

Riders who do not meet the requirements of age and insurance are required to wear an approved motorcycle helmet. The approved motorcycle helmets must be USDOT compliant. If you have been injured in a motorcycle crash, our motorcycle accident lawyers can help.

Does Florida Have Exceptions to the Motorcycle Helmet Laws?

Some may wonder if motorcycle helmets are mandatory in the state of Florida or if there are any exceptions to the helmet laws. There are a few exceptions, and they include:

  • Motorcyclists who are 21+ years of age and have medical insurance benefits of at least $10,000
  • Riders who are in an enclosed cab
  • Riders 16+ operating a moped or motorcycle with under 50 cc displacement
  • Riders 16+ operating a moped that does not have over two brake horsepower (BHP) and cannot go over 30 mph

All persons under the age of 16 who are riding on a moped are required to wear a helmet that is USDOT-approved.

How Can Riders Comply with Motorcycle Insurance Exceptions in Florida?

Since the only requirement for Florida motorcyclists is that they have $10,000 in medical insurance, there are a few ways they can meet this requirement:

  • Personal health insurance that provides $10,000 in personal medical expenses.
  • A private liability insurance coverage

It is also important to understand if you are unable to meet this requirement. Since Florida does not require motorcycle insurance, the required PIP vehicle coverage that all Florida residents must carry will not automatically cover a motorcycle.

Is There a Requirement for Eye Protection in Florida?

Along with the required helmet laws, there is also an eye protection requirement in Florida. The Florida motorcycle helmet law requires that operators wear approved eye protection. There is no legal exception to the eye protection requirement, no matter your age or the insurance you carry. Every motorcycle operator is required to wear eye protection at all times.

Motorcycle Accident Attorneys Who Can Help

The law firm of Englander Peebles is available to help motorcyclists who have been injured in a crash. It is important to understand that even if you were not wearing a helmet when you were injured in the accident, you may still be eligible to receive financial compensation. Our motorcycle accident lawyers will help protect your legal rights. Call us today for a free case evaluation to discuss your legal options.