Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Claims
Personal injury protection or PIP, which is sometimes referred to as no-fault insurance coverage, is additional protection used to supplement traditional car insurance. The state of Florida requires that every motor vehicle owner and driver on the road have $10,000 worth of Personal Injury Protection insurance coverage. An insurance company pays these benefits to a medical provider regardless of who was at fault for the car accident. It covers any accident or injury that involves a vehicle, even if the injured person was on a bicycle or was a pedestrian when the accident occurred. If you are a health provider and need assistance with pursuing a PIP claim, Englander Peebles can provide aggressive representation to assist you in recovering the compensation that you are entitled to.
“From start to finish, Warren Peebles was professional, compassionate and straight forward! I want to thank him for winning my case and helping me step by step through the process! Thank you and Happy Holidays!”- Kim C.
Under Florida?s PIP statute, car owners and drivers must carry $10,000 worth of personal injury protection to pay for the first $10,000 of medical bills and lost wages. Insurance companies must pay 80% of medical bills and 60% of lost wages up to $10,000 regardless of fault. However, under the new law, PIP coverage is limited to $2,500 if treatment occurs within 14 days but no emergency medical condition exists.
For a person?s injuries to be covered by a Personal Injury Protection policy, Florida law does not require for a person to be driving a car at the time of the accident. Under the statute, the insurer of the owner of a motor vehicle is required to pay PIP benefits for accidental bodily injury sustained by those who are not an occupant of a vehicle if the injury is caused by physical contact with a motor vehicle. In other words, even if you are not actually driving your car, you may still recover under your PIP policy if your injury was caused by physical contact with another car. Therefore, pedestrians who are lawfully crossing the street and are injured by a car have the right to PIP benefits.
In order to be eligible for PIP benefits, a covered individual must receive treatment within 14 days of the accident. This includes following up with a primary care doctor, hospital, walk-in clinic, or receiving emergency roadside service, in addition to being taken to the emergency room by the EMS. Florida?s PIP statute covers medical doctors, osteopathic physicians, chiropractors, hospitals, and EMS services. It doesn?t allow for massage therapists or acupuncturists, or cover such services even if rendered by a doctor.
Obtain the Compensation that You Deserve from Insurance Companies
Insurance companies make many types of excuses as to why they are not paying your PIP claim. You spent years in school to become a medical provider. You work hard to provide for your patients. You should be properly compensated for your services. If you have submitted a bill to a PIP insurance carrier and received either a denial or an underpayment, contact us today. At Englander Peebles, we examine both the HICFA that you submit to your patient’s insurance company as well as the reasons for denial/underpayment. If you were wrongfully denied payment in full for your services, we will serve a demand on your behalf. Insurance companies have 30 days to send you proper payment. If they refuse, we will file a lawsuit on your behalf.
Contact Our Personal Injury Protection Lawyers Today
If you are a health care provider and need assistance with filing a Personal Injury Protection claim for a covered patient who was injured in a car accident, Englander Peebles is here to help you. We are experienced personal injury attorneys who know how to advocate fiercely for a client’s rights both in and out of court. You may contact our law firm for a free initial consultation by calling (954) 500-4878 or by completing our online contact form.