If you frequently use a ridesharing service in Florida, chances are, you have had at least one poor ride. That experience may have you questioning who is responsible for covering ridesharing accidents if you are ever involved in one.
Florida law outlines who is responsible for rideshare accident coverage.
Whose insurance covers ridesharing accidents in Florida?
In the state of Florida, rideshare drivers must carry $50,000 in physical injury or death liability per person, $100,000 of the same coverage per accident and $25,000 for property damage. This coverage takes effect whenever the driver is on the clock and should cover you after a rideshare accident. However, if the responsible rideshare driver does not have adequate coverage, major rideshare services hold insurance policies that should cover your injuries up to a million dollars. The amount you can receive may decrease if another driver is at fault, but you may still receive coverage under the company’s insurance policy. You may also have coverage from your own underinsured motorist policy or the responsible driver’s insurance.
What should I do after a ridesharing accident?
There are several steps you should take to protect yourself following a ridesharing accident, including the following:
- Notify authorities
- Obtain a thorough medical checkup
- Take photos of the accident
- Exchange appropriate contact information
- Seek follow-up medical care
- Pursue insurance claims if injured
Knowing who is responsible for personal injury coverage after a rideshare accident can help you take the necessary actions to gain deserved coverage under the law and to receive proper treatment for your injuries.